rapid river - dry hop timing - butterscotch?

Terry

This is my first time using the beerdroid, or even brewing for that matter...  So i have lots of concerns :)

My rapid river ale has been brewing for 5 days and I just got the dry hop notification.  so i opened up the top and dropped in the two packets of hop pellets.  While doing so I noticed the beer smelled kinda sweet and buttery.. 

Is this normal?  how is dry hoping timed?  how many more days of fermenting should I expect?  I did some research and found this smell indicates more time is needed for the yeast to absorb the diacetyl.  is this normal for day 5?  has this gone horribly wrong?

thanks in advance for any advice.

@Terry

Welcome to the Forum.  All questions are welcome.  We have many brewers willing to help.

I have successfully brewed Rapid River Ale in the past with good results.  It seems like your progression in the brewing process is normal. 

Dry hopping is triggered when basic fermentation is complete.1 Then, you get the prompt to dry hop.  A usual period of about 48 hours is allowed for the hops to take effect and then the droid will lower the temperature to about 39F (4C) to chill out the hop's debris.  (This is called "cold crashing.")

The BeerDroid has at least two temperature sensors - one high and one low.  The static/dynamic difference between these sensors is used to determine EOF (End of Fermentation). or progressive fermentation status.

I hope this helps.

😀 Happy brewing.

@Terry,

Don't be alarmed by a "sweet" smell from your brew.  Normally, you won't notice any aromas since opening the droid before dry-hopping or kegging is discouraged.  However, sampling is OK.  This includes a taste test of the sample.  Sweet is not a bad indicator.  Even some finished brews retain a little sweetness.

Happy brewing. 😀