Slightly cloudy Lager

Hi all,

Have jst brewed my first Australian Premium Lager and am about to bottle it. However, I have noticed that it appears cloudy and has small bits of what I assume is yeast floating in it.  I just wanted to check if this is normal and that it will settle after bottling or if I should do something else to clear it up before bottling?

Many thanks 

Dale

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-05 at 7.03.01 AM (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-05 at 7.03.01 AM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-05 at 7.03.01 AM.jpeg

I'm a novice, still, here's my understanding.  Hopefully someone with better knowledge can correct me or add to anything I put here.

First yes looks like yeast to me & completely normal.  Much of it well settle, but may not go completely clear.  One piece of advice I can give based on what I've seen so far, when you get to "fermentation complete" and are about to bottle/keg, take about double that amount you poured in the glass and just let it sit there for 5 minutes.  You should see the top of it getting clearer.  That first ~200ml is the least clear you'll get out of the beerdroid after a brew competes.  The rest should be more clear as you keep emptying it.

Here's some generalisations based on my reading.

1. Bottom of the bottle / first draw on the keg will have more yeast in it as the yeast settles to the bottom
  2. The clumps you're seeing is called flocculation, essentially means yeast clumps together.  Natural to occur more rapidly after fermentation is complete as the yeast goes into hibernation, part of it's survival strategy.
  3. If you leave the beer cold enough for long enough, often called cold crashing, the yeast will sink to the bottom more rapidly & somewhat come out of suspension.