Is my Kegging process overboard and wasting beer?!?

Ok. So brew #5. So far so good. My biggest complaint…I wish the droid was 20lts 😂🤣

I’m new to brewing and read about closed circuit (CC) brewing and transferring but I don’t believe the droid is 100% CC. You have to open the lid/keg to dry/liquid hops so it kinda defeats the purpose of the effort right?

Anyway, I’ve been transferring via hop filter tube into my 10lt keg  via the liquid out spear connect with an average time, with regular “burping “ of the kegs relief valve of 55mins but I’m consistently left with nearly a pint in the droid that should have come out the exit hole. What a waste!

Question 1

Should I just remove the spear, transfer via the tubing direct into the keg. Get it all out of the droid.  Burp the keg a few times with co2 to remove O2? Or is this “froth” with danger?

Question 2

When my keg is “empty” foam starts to come out the Pluto gun but when I release the pressure, pour out the beer, there’s another 3/4 pints “wort” left in the keg, although a totally different colour so I’m guessing this is sediment and supposed to be waste? Is this normal?

I know it’s not much, but since I purchased the Droid and waited 6mths on back order, the Prints have increased in price a lot. I’ve got a mate making amazing 50lt grain brews, albeit more work, for $50-60 of ingredients so I want to make sure I’m getting the most out of this machine.

Thanks for your thoughts!

Pic 1. Brew 

Pic 2. Dregs in keg of same brew 

CCB29C39-A3B6-4310-9212-3BE537B9E78A.jpeg

0C63AD82-F558-41B3-B8EF-FC07C032E3E6.jpeg

18 hours ago, Liquid Gold said:

You have to open the lid/keg to dry/liquid hops so it kinda defeats the purpose of the effort right?

No not right. The keg (after being purged with Co2 and pressure released to remove most of the O2) is sealed from the atmosphere and the beer from the droid tap is also O2 protected as the atmosphere is only on/above the surface. It’s a good way to fill your keg.