Secondary fermentation...is it a must?

I’ve posed this question to the Facebook group, but wanted to ask here too for exposure. 
I’m brand new to the hobby, watched the videos and just started my first brew a few days ago. (US Chiller Lager).  I bought a 10 liter stainless steel keg which came with a keg tap and mini CO2 regulator that uses those mini 16g CO2 canisters. My question is once I keg the beer can I just use the CO2 to carbonate the beer then is it ready to drink immediately? Or is it a must that I put the primer into the keg and let it sit 4-6 weeks? 

6 hours ago, K. C. said:

I’ve posed this question to the Facebook group, but wanted to ask here too for exposure. 
I’m brand new to the hobby, watched the videos and just started my first brew a few days ago. (US Chiller Lager).  I bought a 10 liter stainless steel keg which came with a keg tap and mini CO2 regulator that uses those mini 16g CO2 canisters. My question is once I keg the beer can I just use the CO2 to carbonate the beer then is it ready to drink immediately? Or is it a must that I put the primer into the keg and let it sit 4-6 weeks? 

Welcome to the forum K.C. 
Yes you can just carbonate with the Co2 and once carbonated you certainly can consume straight away however note that it will not be “at its best” as maturing/aging the beer does improve the outcome. 
No other primer is required. To carbonate under your setup the keg and beer should be first chilled (4C or less), regulator set to your desired serving pressure and away you go. You will need a few canisters to carbonate and dispense the beer. You may want to look at the soda stream bottle and adaptor for the regulator, cheaper and easier way to go.

Note:- make sure the mini regulator is set to zero when first attaching the canisters, damage may occur if set at a pressure.

• Like 1

12 hours ago, K. C. said:

Can be drunk immediately, will better itself with further secondary though