First Brew Issues - Leakage

Hello,

I am new to Beerdriod and started my first beer 2 days ago, Coopers XPA. Apart from a few issues with the iOS app and connecting to WiFi all went pretty smooth.

Followed the sanitizing instructions to a tee.

I used distilled water rather than tap for my brew since I have quite hard water in my area. I made sure to only fill to the 10L mark. Added the ingredients slowly and in the correct order. Lid is tight as possible.

Started via the app and all ran very smooth until I check this morning. I had a lot of overflow from the lid. Please see attached pictures.

The overflow was very sticky, so probably happened during the night and partially dried. I cleaned off and let the brew continue since there was no error.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Alan

image0.jpeg

image1.jpeg

One other thing I noticed. I started the Coopers XPA from the shelf in the iOS Brewart app but the BeerDriod went to custom mode. The temps seem to be correct 62f (17c) so I think it is fine.

iOS app does seem to have some issues namely connecting to WiFi. Could the custom mode be related to the iOS app?

I am just a tad confused as to why it would be custom and not an Ale.

Alan

image0.jpeg

Scratch all this post and my questions.

Seems Overflow is normal, as is Custom mode if using a brew print.

After painfully reading all the FAQ's I found my answers. Brewart, if you are reading this, the FAQ page needs a search button to pick up key words. Pretty sure this simple change would resolve a lot of newbie's issues/questions.

All is good.

Alan

• Upvote 1

6 hours ago, Alan Batchelor said:

Scratch all this post and my questions.

Seems Overflow is normal, as is Custom mode if using a brew print.

After painfully reading all the FAQ's I found my answers. Brewart, if you are reading this, the FAQ page needs a search button to pick up key words. Pretty sure this simple change would resolve a lot of newbie's issues/questions.

All is good.

Alan