Another Mess...Why No Airlock ?

Andy

As I’ve said many posts, total newbie to brewing but really enjoying both the droid process and consumption so far.  However, after just initiating my 3rd brewprint, pineapple Ale, woke to to a hell of a sticky overflow mess.  Glad the wife was still in bed long enough for me to clean up.

Has anyone wondered why there isn’t an overflow hose that could run into a bucket and also act as an airlock if submerged in water?  Also, why doesn’t it hurt the brew being open to air with no airlock?

Thanks and Regards 

6 hours ago, Andy said:

As I’ve said many posts, total newbie to brewing but really enjoying both the droid process and consumption so far.  However, after just initiating my 3rd brewprint, pineapple Ale, woke to to a hell of a sticky overflow mess.  Glad the wife was still in bed long enough for me to clean up.

Has anyone wondered why there isn’t an overflow hose that could run into a bucket and also act as an airlock if submerged in water?  Also, why doesn’t it hurt the brew being open to air with no airlock?

Thanks and Regards 

My understanding that an airlock/hose would effect the processes of the droid with regard to fermentation start and EOF advise. The lid system in part seals however any “excessive” pressure will be allowed to escape.

There are a few recipes, the pineapple being one of them (from memory) that warn if potential overflowing. A few of us actually have taped to the side of the droid by the overflow outlet a Chux wipe cloth to catch any overflow and reduce mess.

E073EB28-4FC8-4D73-B2F2-1FDF2970CD32.thumb.jpeg.fc747aacf7d002abcc019d2d60f5ae57.jpeg

Edited by Captain 3 Droids

38 minutes ago, Captain 3 Droids said:

My understanding that an airlock/hose would effect the processes of the droid with regard to fermentation start and EOF advise. The lid system in part seals however any “excessive” pressure will be allowed to escape.