Brews flat and tasteless after 3 weeks in the bottle

Hi,

I'm fairly new to the beerdroid but have brewed plenty of old style homebrews back in the day with no real problems.

My first few were ok then i started experiencing alot of issues with flat and tasteless brews even after 3 weeks in the bottle.

My sanitising regime is pretty thorough including the recommended pill in the droid plus brewsan spray bottle for lid and seal, tap and plug. The bottles which are grolsh style get a good clean and sanitize and rinse also.

Trying to think what i'm missing, any help much appreciated. Money down the drain at this stage.

Rob...

3 minutes ago, Rob Evans said:

Hi,

I'm fairly new to the beerdroid but have brewed plenty of old style homebrews back in the day with no real problems.

My first few were ok then i started experiencing alot of issues with flat and tasteless brews even after 3 weeks in the bottle.

My sanitising regime is pretty thorough including the recommended pill in the droid plus brewsan spray bottle for lid and seal, tap and plug. The bottles which are grolsh style get a good clean and sanitize and rinse also.

Trying to think what i'm missing, any help much appreciated. Money down the drain at this stage.

Rob...

Hi Rob and welcome to the forum.

A few brewers here use the Grolsch style bottles and have achieved better results by replacing the seals.

@Rob Courtneyand @Eltham Brewing Houseany comments?

Cheers!

Good to see another Rob on board to be honest. @Rob Evans

Bit of a strange one as I never have had major issues with Grolsch bottles but more the "Grolsch style" swingtop bottles from the bottleshop. I mean I have replaced all grolsch seals over the journey but it wasn't a situation like you are describing.

It shouldn't have anything to do with the sanitising, so maybe post exactly what your process is with brewing, maybe there is something that you are not doing that would make us go "ahhhh".

Edited by Rob Courtney